Funds EEA

Working together for a green, competitive and inclusive Europe.

The EEA Grants represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to creating a green, competitive and inclusive Europe. There are two general objectives: reducing economic and social inequalities in Europe and strengthening bilateral relations between donor states and the 15 EU Central European countries and the South and the Baltic Sea area.

The three Donor States work closely with the EU under the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA). Donors contributed EUR 3.3 billion as part of successive fund programs in 1994–2014.

EEA Grants funds for 2014–2021 amount to EUR 1.55 billion.

The priorities for this period are:

  • innovation, research, education and competitiveness;
  • social inclusion, youth employment and poverty reduction;
  • environment, energy, climate change and low carbon economy;
  • culture, civil society, good management and fundamental rights;
  • justice and home affairs.

The EEA Grants funds are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, whose contributions are based on their GDP.

Eligibility for the funds results from meeting the criteria set out in the EU Cohesion Fund for Member States where gross domestic income per capita is less than 90% of the EU average.

More information about the Funds can be found at:, www.eeagrants.orgFunds EEA